top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture𝓕𝓪𝔂𝓮

21 things learnt by 21

Updated: Mar 11, 2021

As i'm turning 22 in just over two weeks (my life is over you don’t have to tell me), I thought it a good idea to reflect on the 21 things that I’ve learnt by the age of 21.


 

They were not better than you, they were jealous. I can’t stress enough how much this is true, although the idea of someone being jealous of me in any respect of my life is alien. I learned this in high school and college, more than in other areas of my life. Someone putting you down all the time is only a reflection of them, not you.


Stop trying to please everyone, it’s ok if they don’t like you. As much as this one stings being the people pleaser that I am, it's totally necessary to keep reminding myself of this mantra. You can do everything right, say all the right things, and still someone won’t like you as much as you wish they did. I’m talking about relationships and friendships. Move on.


People don’t care what you're wearing. Seriously.


You don’t have to be the class clown ALL the time. Eventually no one takes you seriously, and your teachers think you're an idiot. This only applied to me in high school, and being sent out of EVERY English class eventually got boring.


Don’t backcomb your hair.


Stop chasing after people who are only half interested in you. It’s not worth the hassle and you end up getting hurt. You need someone 100% concrete.


The best way to add to yourself and your life is to invest in YOU. Fitness, mental health and general self care are all important ways to upgrade the current version of you. You don’t have to go changing yourself every time you feel sad. It’s worth investing in yourself, you’re the only you you've got.


Cutting my hair will not solve the problem.


My current situation is not my final destination. Being a recent graduate struggling to find work and trying to freelance, it’s easy to focus on how I feel like a failure. I’m not, I’m trying and it will come right in the end.


Landlords are horrendous people, and having a screaming match with them once a week will not get rid of the rats in your house, unfortunately.


Some people that you thought were your friends are anything but, and that’s ok.

Friendships are more important than relationships.


Always trust your gut feeling. Even if it leads to the worst, you're probably right.


You don’t have to drink until you can’t see straight. You will thank yourself in the morning.


Eating by yourself is one of life’s great pleasures. Although it is scary at first, eating steak and drinking bellinis isn’t.


In fact, doing most things by yourself is a pleasure. Shopping, travelling, sunbathing, swimming, reading in public. All best enjoyed alone.


Speaking in classes is embarrassing, but rewarding.


Don’t be so naive. If it looks like shit, it's shit.


I’m as capable as the next person, and I forget that most of the time. Imposter syndrome is real.


You can’t outrun your problems, but avoiding them in Greece helps.


I depend too much on coffee.

102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page